Kentucky CTE Demonstrates Award-Winning Leadership at 2016 ACTE Career Tech Vision Conference — Sarah Raikes Wins ACTE National Teacher of the Year, Jacob Scott Ball Wins ACTE National New Teacher of the Year

2017 CTE Awards Summary

CTE Recognizes Achievement!

Please consider nominating outstanding individuals for their contributions to Career and Technical Education. Short form submittal deadline is January 31, 2018. 

2018 KACTE Awards Short Form Application

2018 KACTE 27 Years of Service Award Application


The Kentucky Association for Career and Technical Education (KACTE) participates in the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) national awards program to promote excellence in Career and Technical Education (CTE). The Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation has sponsored the annual Career and Technical Education Awards since 2003.  KACTE expresses its sincere thanks to the Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation for the support that makes these awards possible year after year. 

The Annual CTE Awards seek to recognize:

  • individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the field;
  • programs that exemplify the highest standards; and
  • organizations that have conducted activities to promote and expand Career and Technical Education programs.

KACTE conducts the awards program, which is organized under the guidelines established by ACTE. There are 12 award categories, each with various criteria and eligibility requirements. KACTE members and individual program areas are encouraged to participate each year by submitting nominations to the KACTE Awards Committee chair. The Awards Committee reviews the nominees and selects the winners. Information on awards, the criteria and the nominations process may be viewed on-line at the ACTE website:

The short form nomination application for each year will be posted on this site as a downloadable PDF document by January 1 of each year.

KACTE award winners are entered into the appropriate ACTE national award category for the following administrative year. In recent years, several KACTE members have been recognized nationally, including:

  • 2016 ACTE Champion of the Year Terry Holliday, Ph.D., retired Kentucky Commissioner of Education
  • 2015 ACTE Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Leslie Watkins, Family and Consumeer Sciences Teacher, McCracken County Schools
  • 2014 ACTE National CTE Educator of the Year Tony Brannon, Ph.D., Dean, Hustson School of Agriculture, Murray State University
  • 2011 ACTE National Outstanding Teacher in Community Service finalist Phyllis Sweatt, Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, Bowling Green High School.
  • 2010 ACTE National CTE Educator of the Year finalist Dale Winkler, Ed.D., then Principal, Montgomery County Area Technology Center; currently Kentucky CTE State Director.
  • 2009 ACTE National CTE Educator of the Year finalist Ginny Ellington, University of Kentucky, and 2009 ACTE National Teacher of the Year finalist Ellie Pribble, Health Science Technology, Harrison County Area Technology Center;
  • 2007 ACTE National CTE Teacher of the Year Leslie Watkins, Family and Consumer Sciences, Reidland High School;
  • 2004-2005 KACTE President Sarah Raikes, Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, Washington County High School, who was the first recipient of the ACTE Outstanding Teacher in Community Service Award;
  • Donnalie Stratton, Program Consultant, Kentucky Department of Education, Office of Career and Technical Education, who received the Carl D. Perkins Humanitarian Award, one of the highest honors bestowed by ACTE; and
  • Sandra Miller, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, University of Kentucky, who received an ACTE Outstanding Service Award.

KACTE Seeks Postsecondary Program of Distinction Recognition Nominations

In 2015, the Kentucky Association for Career and Technical Education (KACTE) initiated the first Postsecondary Program of Distinction Award recognition. A committee led by Thomas Kingery, Ph.D., Western Kentucky University, with representatives from the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) and public and private institutions of higher learning, proposed recognizing institutions, departments, or programs based on three categories — Inspiring, Advocating, and Leading. Each category has three questions used to determine the submittal’s quality in serving students and CTE. Documentation is required.

The KACTE Board approved the proposal, and the first awards were presented at the 2015 CTE Summer Program Opening Session at the Galt House Hotel and Suites, Louisville, on Monday, July 20, at 10 a.m. The honored programs were:
*  Murray State University Hutson School of Agriculture;
*  South Central Community and Technical College Culinary Arts Program.

The second set of Postsecondary Program of Distinction Awards will be presented at the 2016 CTE Summer Program at the Galt House Hotel and Suites, Louisville, on Monday, July 18, 2016.

Please download and complete the fillable PDF applicationand e-mail to KACTE ( Completed applications also can be mailed to KACTE, P.O. Box 4583, Frankfort, KY 40604-4583. The due date for receipt of the application is June 1, 2018, which will allow for scoring, preparation of awards, and notification of recipients in advance of the 2016 CTE Summer Program, July 17-20, at the Galt House Hotel and Suites, Louisville. All applications that meet the scoring guidelines will be recognized. There is no limit on the number of postsecondary institutions, departments, or programs that can be recognized. PLEASE NOTE: At least one person from the submitting institution, department, or program must be a current, dues-paying KACTE member at the time of application.

Please share this information as widely as appropriate. Direct any questions or requests for additional information to KACTE Executive Director Michael R. Stone (, 502-223-1823). Remember, the application deadline is June 1, 2018.